VISA Policy For Tanzania

Travel Tips

On arrival to Tanzania, visa policy is the only aspect that determines who may be obliged to enter the country and the types of visas available for that purpose in that matter.

Whether or not a visa is required for Tanzania depends on the traveler’s nationality, the purpose of traveling, and the duration of the intended stay in the country.

Citizens from over 40 countries are not obliged to meet any Tanzania visa requirements for short trips, because they are visa-exempt and they can stay in the country for up to 90 days (3 months).

All other foreign citizens coming to Tanzania must obtain a visa, either an e-Visa through an online application system, an embassy visa from a Tanzanian diplomatic mission in a specific country, or a visa on arrival at a border entry point while traveling to Tanzania.

Through the e-Visa system, citizens from over 150 countries are now able to submit an online electronic application for a visa, thus eliminating the requirement to wait in line at the border or visit a government diplomatic office for the process.

The visa-on-arrival is still available in Tanzania and required by citizens of countries who are obliged, but this process can involve quite a long wait at an immigration checkpoint for an application to be undertaken. It is also mandatory to pay the visa fee in cash in US currency on arrival.

The eVisa option eliminates all long processes and accelerates entry to the country. Those not qualified for an electronic visa must apply in person for an embassy visa from the nearest Tanzanian consulate in a specific country, by arranging an appointment in advance, whether a tourist visa, business visa, work visa, or study visa. It is always mandatory to indicate the type of travel document the applicant needs for their stay in the country.

The Tanzania visa policy is the same as that of Zanzibar, so most travel permits allow the holder to visit both sides. Currently, there are no Tanzania visa bans in place against any foreign nationalities.

Embassy or Consular Visa Required:

Country list:

  • Afghanistan
  • Anguilla
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bermuda
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chad
  • Christmas Island
  • Cocos Islands
  • Cook Islands
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Guernsey
  • Iran
  • Isle of Man Jersey
  • Kazakhstan
  • Lebanon
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Montserrat
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Norfolk Island
  • Pakistan
  • Palestinian Territory
  • Saint Helena
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Tajikistan
  • Tokelau
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Uzbekistan

Visa Not Required:

Country List:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Grenada
  • Guinea
  • Haiti
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Macau
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Philippines
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • South Africa
  • Swaziland
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

For more information and updates about visas and requirements for traveling to Tanzania, please visit